Sinnot Wins, Randall Closes in on SuperTour Title

2011-04-01 00:00


SUN VALLEY, ID (April 1) – Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation's Michael Sinnot (Sun Valley, ID) snagged his first SuperTour win of the season and the U.S. Ski Team's Kikkan Randall (Anchorage) continued her hot streak as both skied to victory in the SuperTour Finals classic sprint at Sun Valley.

Randall collected her third win in three SuperTour Finals competitions, setting herself up nicely for the final event of the mini-tour, the 5k hill climb up Dollar Mountain.

"I was just trying to keep the momentum going," said Randall.  "Feeling good with only one race left."

The Alaska native had to work for the win, edging out Canada's Chandra Crawford.  Rounding out the podium was Sweden's Maria Graefnings, who also skied well in Wednesday's classic pursuit.

On the men's side, hometown hero Sinnot beat out sprint powerhouse Andy Newell (Shaftsbury, VT) in an exciting sprint race. APUNSC's Lars Flora (Anchorage), a strong competitor all season on the SuperTour, wrapped up third.

Both men and women now prepare for Saturday's 5k hill climb.  With bonus seconds assessed for place and time, the first man and woman to cross the line will be declared the SuperTour finals Champion.  Randall has her eyes on the prize, but the men's competition is completely up for grabs, with Sinnot, Newell, Kris Freeman (Thornton, NH) and Simi Hamilton (Ketchum, ID) all in the running for the win.


U.S. SuperTour Championships
Sun Valley, ID – April 1, 2011
Classic Sprint

1. Michael Sinnot, Sun Valley, ID (SVSEF), ID, 3:37.7
2. Andy Newell, Shaftsbury, VT (U.S. Ski Team/Stratton Mt. School), 3:44.4
3. Lars Flora, Anchorage (APUNSC), 3:47.2
4. Eric Packer, Anchorage (Dartmouth Ski Team), 3:51.1
5. Noah Hoffman, Aspen, CO (U.S. Ski Team/ Aspen Valley SC), 3:54.2

1. Kikkan Randall, Anchorage (U.S. Ski Team/ APUNSC), 4:19.1
2. Chandra Crawford, Canada (Cranmore Nordic), 4:21.5
3. Maria Graefnings, Sweden (University of Utah), 4:27.0
4. Sadie Bjornsen, Anchorage(APUNSC), 4:29.1
5. Jessie Diggins, Afton, VT (CXC), 4:34.3
6. Sophie Caldwell, Peru, VT(Dartmouth Ski Team), 4:51.0

For complete results: